Colour workshop

Colour experiment

Colour experiment

This was a workshop mainly aimed to get us to understand a lot more about the use of colour. A lot of the time, people would use colour paint straight from the tube which wont really capture the right atmosphere within a painting.  This exercise try’s to get us to understand a little more about mixing colours and how applying them in a certain way can even effect a painting.

To start with we were each asked to bring in a variety of water colours and to write down a list from the following:

 

 

 

  • A place you love
  • A place you hate
  • A smell
  • A person you knew very well
  • A famous person
  • A taste
  • A time of day
  • An early memory
  • A month of the year
  • A day of the week
  • A piece of music

Once we had wrote down things for the list, we were then told that we had to create a certain colour to represent certain things on the list, without writing down any hints at all. we had to try and describe the point to another person in the classroom, with just the use of the colour we made up.

Picture of the colours:

Picture of the colours to represent certain words

Picture of the colours to represent certain words

With this exercise it really made me think about the point I was trying to get across, and with some of the colours above I think that I managed to communicate it across, while with other colours people thought that they resembled something else. This also shows that certain colours mean different things to different people, which could have an impact on my work in the future as people may see my illustrations differently then myself.

However I also found out that in most cases people will see bright warm colours as something good, and darker more colder colours as something bad. But mostly it all depends on life experiences and how everyone see’s the world.

Keeping everything I had learned from each experiment, I was then told to pick one of the above words and create five final images using a similar colour pallet on each. The aim for these final images was to not rely heavenly on the colour within the tube, and to try and create a certain atmosphere within the final pieces.

For my final pieces I wanted to go back with painting in wet on wet as I found that this was the most experimental and interesting way to use the water colour. From the experiments before, I personally found that this was the most hard technique to use with water colour, as I had limited control over the paints and mixture’s bleeding into each other and the water. Another area which interested me was the formation of clouds which don’t really have a fixed structure. Because of clouds being as random as the water colour technique, I thought that it would be a good idea to combine the two and try and recreate a serious of clouds while using a variety of colour pallets.

Outcome:

IMG_20140112_0001 IMG_20140112_0003 IMG_20140112_0006 IMG_20140112_0005 IMG_20140112_0004

Colour pallets;

Dark blue sky

Dark blue sky pallet

Cyan blue sky pallet

Cyan blue sky pallet

Yellow sky pallet

Yellow sky pallet

Sunset/orange sky colour pallet

Sunset/orange sky colour pallet

Black/Grey sky colour pallet

Black/Grey sky colour pallet

What I had found while doing these paintings, were that the paper didn’t really hold the colour very well. Because of this, once I had finished painting each picture, the water would carry on spreading throughout the page, mixing as it flows. I think that I can fix this problem in future by investing in a much thicker wood based water colour paper. This should hold more of the paint together, without the paper socking up too much water and becoming too fragile. With the painting I have now, I could try and improve them more but going over each cloud with a much thicker amount of paint.

An example of some clouds I created before they messed up.

Cloud while painting

Cloud while painting

Leave a Reply

